Andrew Davenport

Vice Chair
Dave Rickards

Bob Thompson

Martie Rose Mendoza

John Hougan
Mark Hutchinson
Richard Mayede
Michelle O'Connor
James Patterson
Cec Primeau 
Elisabeth Sadowski
Jim Wu
Sherri Zelazny

Medical Advisor
Martin McKeown


Andrew Davenport is Director of Corporate Development at TELUS and previously worked in the United Kingdom as a Principal with IBM Consulting in addition to working in executive roles at Bell Canada International and its subsidiaries. He obtained a Bachelor of Science in Engineering (Physics) from Queens University as well as an MBA from INSEAD in France. Andrew became involved with PSBC as his father, Dr. Alan Davenport, has Parkinson’s disease.

David Rickards, CPA, CA is a retired Partner from Grant Thornton LLP in Vancouver. Dave is a graduate from UBC faculty of Commerce and obtained his Chartered Accountant designation in 1979. He is a past Governor of the Canadian Tax Foundation and has held various positions with the Institute of Chartered Accountants of British Columbia. Dave is actively involved with various community volunteer activities. He joined the Board of Directors as a tribute to his brother who passed away from complications related to Parkinson's disease, and Dave also serves on the Board Finance Committee.

Bob Thompson is a Professional Productivity Coach, Trainer and Public Speaker. As an owner and manager of successful businesses in British Columbia and Alberta over the last 30 years, he has been associated with Priority Management Systems, The Strategic Coach, and TEC Canada (The Executive Committee Group). Bob was diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease in 2005 and is currently the President of the Kelowna Parkinson’s Support Group. He joined the Board in October 2010.

Martie Rose Mendoza, CPA, CA has over 18 years of experience in corporate and public practice accounting. She obtained her Chartered Accountant designation in 2010. She is currently serving at Seymour Health Centre as the Director of Finance and has previously worked at Stork Craft Manufacturing Inc., Deloitte, Ernst & Young, and Mondolez International (formerly Kraft Foods International). She is a world traveller, having explored over 30 countries across America, Asia, Oceania, Africa, and Europe. She has been involved in helping at a community library, transition home, soup kitchen, and in mentoring young adults. Martie joined the PSBC Board of Directors because of her passion in giving back to the community.

John Hougan retired recently. He worked for BC Hydro for much of his career in their Power Smart,  Demand-Side Management,  and Large Account Management/Customer Service Business units utilizing his Master of Environmental Studies. He was diagnosed with Parkinson’s in 2007 and has been actively involved with the Parkinson’s community ever since helping create awareness, educating peers and fund raising for the Society. He has also participated in a number of research studies and assisted with training of medical professionals from the patient’s perspective.

Richard Mayede is a creative consultant who works with companies that need help with social media, marketing, web design, video, and photography. He was diagnosed with Young Onset Parkinson’s Disease in 2005, and from that point forward he was determined to be a source of positivity and encouragement. He first became involved with PSBC through fundraising for Parkinson SuperWalk in 2005. After over 10 years of fundraising for the event, he wanted to do more for people with Parkinson’s. In 2016, he asked, and was accepted, to join PSBC’s Board of Directors. In 2017 & 2018, Richard acted as one of the faces of the Society’s awareness campaign, drawing attention to the many ways that the disease affects patients. His involvement in advocacy efforts in 2020, helped secure more operating room time for DBS surgeries in BC. On the “Inspirational Stories” section of PSBC’s website, you can see Richard’s personal story about his challenges living with Parkinson’s.

Michelle O'Connor, JD is Legal Counsel at Metro Vancouver Regional District, where she advises on a variety of legal matters including commercial, real property, construction, intellectual property and other local government issues. Previously, she practiced at a financial tech company handling a broad scope of legal matters, and at law firms primarily in securities and insurance defense litigation. Michelle obtained her Bachelor of Arts and Law degrees from the University of British Columbia in 2005 and 2009, respectively. She joined the Board of Directors because her father-in-law, Dr. Gerry OConnor, has had Parkinson's disease for more than 25 years.

James Patterson is a Crown prosecutor with the Public Prosecution Service of Canada in the Vancouver Regional Office. In the past, James has volunteered with a Melbourne-based non-profit organization that provides basketball programs for disadvantaged children and a non-profit organization that represents inmates on Death Row in Louisiana. His interest in Parkinson’s disease and the Society spans many years and he supports family members who live with the diagnosis.

Cecil (Cec) Primeau, CPA, CMA, MBA. Currently an independent business consultant and coach, Cec's background combines a unique combination of management, financial and information technology skills. He has held senior management positions in a broad range of industries including clean technology and a telecom software start-up, helping take the company from start-up to sale in excess of $20m. Over the years, he has been involved volunteering with children's sports, interests, and schools including serving as a school board trustee. Further to his interest in giving back to the community, Cec was invited to join the Board of Parkinson Society British Columbia.

Elisabeth (Liz) Sadowski is an associate lawyer at Brain & Injury Law - Collette Parsons Corrin LLP in downtown Vancouver. Her main areas of practice are personal injury and medical negligence. Liz is very active in the legal community including serving as the second vice-president of the Trial Lawyers Association of BC. Outside of law, she has been on the board of the non-profit organization, CLICK (Contributing to the Lives of Inner City Kids) for over six years. She joined the board of Parkinson Society BC because her father, a neurologist for over 40 years, has the disease.

Sherri K. Zelazny is a clinical speech pathologist with more than 30 years of experience and clinical expertise in voice evaluation and treatment. She has a long history of involvement with the Parkinson’s community as a clinician providing Lee Silverman Voice Treatment® for Parkinson’s for more than 20 years. She was the Vice President (now Honourary Member) of the Wisconsin Chapter of the American Parkinson Disease Association. She joined the Board of Directors in November 2012. Sherri also contributed significant time and energy to piloting the Society's Communication and Swallow program in 2014 and continues to present this program. She is Past-President of Speech and Hearing BC (2017-2019).

Dr. Martin McKeown is the Medical Advisor to the Board of Directors. He is the Director of the Pacific Parkinson’s Research Centre at UBC and a clinical neurologist with an interest in Movement Disorders, particularly Parkinson's disease. The unique combination of his medical training and engineering background is reflected in his research where engineering principles are applied in investigating disease mechanisms and potential treatments.